VLN (NLS) 2022, preview 8th round: 104 starters

Falken is bringing the new 911 to the NLS 8, the DTM drivers Kelvin van der Linde and Lucas Auer are returning and the championship is in the final sprint.

The calendar officially says NLS 8 for the coming weekend (22.10.), but it is actually the seventh round in the Nürburgring Endurance Series. Why the confusion? NLS 2 fell victim to the weather and will now be the final on 4./5. Made up for November - if the weather doesn't put a spanner in the works again.

Will the championship decision be made?

That's why it's still up in the stars how the championship fight will end. Whereby Daniel Zils, Oskar Sandberg and Sindre Setsaas from Team Adrenalin Motorsport are able to close the sack again this time. They already have six wins in six races and only need four points to win the title.

That means fifth place in a class with seven or more vehicles, fourth place with six vehicles, etc. If you look at the provisional list of participants, seven cars are registered in the VT2-R+4WD category. A fifth place would therefore be sufficient. Incidentally, the occupation of the sister car is also exciting. Here the former WRT-Audi driver Charles Weerts and the ex-BMW-M boss Markus Flasch take the steering wheel.

DTM drivers in NLS

Other prominent names can be found in the top GT3 class. DTM drivers Kelvin van der Linde and Lucas Auer support Phoenix Racing and HRT. "The goal on the Nordschleife is always to win," says van der Linde, who starts with Kuba Giermaziak. "Of course we want to be competitive again after the success in the 24-hour race. I've never driven in a car with Cuba before, but he's a fast man. We're perfectly prepared and have a good chance of a top result."

This time at Falken Motorsport, Julien Andlauer and Klaus Bachler are driving the new Porsche 911 GT3 R (992). The team also uses the previous model for Tim Heinemann and Martin Ragginger.

Manthey with a double effort

At the last race, Manthey had the honor of using the new 911 on the Nordschleife. The local heroes are now back with the previous model in Grello livery with Jaxon Evans and Thomas Preining. Evans recently established himself with Falken Motorsport in the Nürburgring endurance scene. But Manthey has more to do. They look after the deployment of the Australian EMA Motorsport team, which they have already led at the 24-hour race in Spa. Dennis Olsen and Matteo Cairoli are seeded here.

There are only 104 participants in total, which is extremely little. In the GT3 class, in addition to the highlights mentioned, further quality is ensured with the start of Dinamic Motorsport, also with the Porsche 911 GT3 R (Picariello/de Leener), Phoenix Racing (Stippler/Kolb) or Walkenhorst Motorsport (Dennis/Krognes). .

The PAGID Racing 46th DMV Münsterlandpokal starts at 12 noon on Saturday (October 22nd) and lasts four hours. We show both qualifying and the race in the live stream .


Leave a reply

Name *