• Home
  • motorsport
  • Reduction of the starting field DTM 2017 with only 18 cars

Reduction of the starting field DTM 2017 with only 18 cars

Decision about reducing the starting field
Subscriptions & booklets

J it is now fixed: The DTM loses 6 in winter Cars. Those responsible for the 3 manufacturers Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz agreed on this at a board and advisory board meeting of the DTM umbrella organization ITR at the season finale in Hockenheim in mid-October.

This news is no surprise. She was hit on the sidelines of last year's season finale 2015 in Hockenheim. The reason for this decision is the high costs. In September 2015, the planned use of the more than 600 hp four-cylinder turbo with two-liter displacement was postponed from 2017 to 2019.

MTEK BMW says goodbye to the DTM

According to information from Motorsport Aktuell, the 3 manufacturers are planning not only to have 2 drivers each (i.e. a total of 6), but also to forego some teams! Only at Audi nothing changes. That means: The 3 teams Abt, Phoenix and Rosberg each use 2 new RS5s.

BMW is planning with 3 instead of 4 teams. The Munich-based works team MTEK will be occupied with a different task by BMW in the future, namely the planned engagement in the World Endurance Championship (WEC) with the 24h of Le Mans. The BMW teams RBM, RMG and Schnitzer should each use two M4s as before.

HWA uses all 6 Mercedes

The largest cut is at Mercedes. The Swabians will only start with one team (HWA). The team from Affalterbach will field all 6 DTM cars centrally! The previous Mercedes teams ART and Mücke will take care of other projects in the future, such as the offspring.

The HWA team of DTM boss Hans Werner Aufrecht also has a prominent newcomer: DTM runner-up Edoardo Mortara changes from Audi to Mercedes. The spectacular change will be officially announced before Mortara's last Audi works outing at the FIA ​​GT World Cup in Macau!


Leave a reply

Name *