• Home
  • formula-1
  • Formula E final Berlin 2021: De Vries world champion

Formula E final Berlin 2021: De Vries world champion

Nyck de Vries was crowned the first world champion in the electric series at the Formula E finale in Berlin. In the final race of the season, the Dutchman benefited from several breakdowns by his title rivals. Lucas di Grassi and Norman Nato picked up the last trophies of the year.

The starting position before the big season finale on the former airfield in Berlin Tempelhof could not have been more exciting. Five drivers still had the chance to clinch the title with a victory under their own steam in the last race. But then the tension bubble burst after just a few minutes.

Jaguar driver Mitch Evans started the race from third place and thus had the best starting position of all championship candidates. But when the traffic light released the journey, the New Zealander couldn't move due to a technical problem. Ironically, Edoardo Mortara, who had also started with great hopes of the title, couldn't avoid it and crashed into Evans' rear.

De Vries wins the title

In order to clear the pile of rubble from the home straight, the race organizers waved the red flag. All cars had to line up in the pit lane. A second attempt could only be started after almost 30 minutes. After two competitors had been eliminated, BMW driver Jake Dennis suddenly had the best chance of winning the title in eighth place.

But the rookie also had to bury his championship hopes quickly. Shortly after the restart, the Englishman lost control of his car when braking for the first corner with the rear wheels locking. The BMW crashed into the wall on the left and could not continue the journey. After the race, it wasn't entirely clear whether it was a driver's error or a technical problem.

That left only Nyck de Vries and Robin Frijns in the title race. Because Frijns, who started six points behind, was way outside of the points after a messed up qualifying from 21st on the grid, his competitor de Vries had the championship in his pocket practically after just a few laps.

Mercedes before Formula E exit

The Mercedes driver could have even afforded a retirement. And so the youngster didn't exercise great caution in the fight for the last points of the year. After some hard duels and enemy contact, de Vries finished in a respectable eighth place, which made him the new champion seven points ahead of Mortara.

Due to bad luck and the inability of the competition, Mercedes finally managed to win the title in the constructors' championship. Incidentally, both the driver and the team can officially call themselves "Formula E World Champion" for the first time after the world automobile association FIA awarded the electric series this title before the season.

The good mood in the Mercedes warehouse was only spoiled by the news that the Silver Arrows will be leaving Formula E again after the coming season. Sport director Toto Wolff did not want to officially confirm the exit, but already admitted that a decision had been made about the brand's commitment. This should be announced in the next few weeks.

Di Grassi and Nato win

With all the fuss about the exciting title fight, the winners of the two final races in Berlin fell a bit under the table. On Saturday Lucas di Grassi secured the first big trophy of the weekend after a tactically clever drive. Starting from third on the grid, the Brazilian pushed past the initially leading Techeetah duo early on. In an exciting finale, Di Grassi narrowly defended the top spot against Edoardo Mortara's Venturi.

But on Sunday it still worked out with the Venturi victory. After the great chaos in the first laps, Norman Nato, who had started from sixth place, was able to quickly move to the front of the field and put some space between himself and his pursuers. The Frenchman's first Formula E victory was never really in danger until the finish line. In the chasing duel, Nissan driver Oliver Rowland prevailed against Stoffel Vandoorne's Mercedes.

After the grand finale in Berlin, Formula E is now taking a break for the rest of the year. The electric fun will not start again until the end of January with two races in Saudi Arabia.


Leave a reply

Name *