Formula 1: The eternal F1 point table

Formula 1: Eternal points leaderboard
Subscriptions & booklets

D he era before the new FIA President Jean Todt ended with the Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi 2009. Until then, 820 World Championship races had taken place in Silverstone since the World Championship started in 1950. There were four different point systems, but they were all within a comparable range.

Small point reforms in the first 60 years

From 1950 to 1959, the top five got 8-6-4- 3-2 championship points. The man with the fastest race lap received an extra counter. In 1960 the point for the fastest lap was canceled. The man in sixth earned it. A year later, the point format was introduced that lasted the longest: 9-6-4-3-2-1 was valid until 1989. From 1990 the winner was upgraded. There were ten points instead of nine. In 2003 the FIA ​​increased the number of points to the top eight. By the end of 2009, 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 points were distributed.

The Jean Todt era begins in Bahrain. It awards points at a discount price. The fans have to memorize a new numbering scheme: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1. They can forget about historical comparisons. Retired drivers like Alain Prost, Niki Lauda or Jackie Stewart will soon be overtaken by comparatively nameless drivers. Michael Schumacher can only save his record of 1,369 points by hanging on to his career for another three years.

Schumacher praises the new points system

Evil tongues claim that the record winner only returned to stay in the lead in the eternal points classification. Nevertheless, Schumacher backs the redesign of the distribution of points: 'The goal is still to get the maximum number of points. I think the new system is a little fairer. It is better that the driver with the most wins becomes world champion and not the one who The way it has been done in the last few years it doesn't make any sense. I think the new point system was introduced at the time when I was winning too many races. With small point gaps, they wanted the championship keep exciting. '

Fernando Alonso, so far a sharp critic of the new point format, suddenly gave in and agreed with Schumacher's opinion. Who has been brainwashed there?

The Eternal Leaderboard

With the beginning of the new age, we are saying goodbye to the eternal leaderboard, theHas been a loyal companion and yardstick for statisticians for 60 years. The order of the top ten Michael Schumacher (1,369), Alain Prost (798.5), Ayrton Senna (614), Rubens Barrichello (601), Fernando Alonso (577), Kimi Raikkonen (576), David Coulthard (535), Nelson Piquet (485.5), Nigel Mansell (482) and Niki Lauda (420.5) will not survive this season. For all historians has once again listed the status of the first 60 years of Formula 1.


Leave a reply

Name *