• Home
  • formula-1
  • FIA Awards Gala 2018: World Cup trophies for the winners

FIA Awards Gala 2018: World Cup trophies for the winners

FIA awards gala in St. Petersburg 2018
Subscriptions & booklets

F ust usually is the mandatory date for the victorious Drivers at the end of a long season a rather dry affair: dress code, rigid program sequence, smiles for the camera. Kimi Raikkonen was therefore not exactly overjoyed when he secured third place in the World Cup in Abu Dhabi despite the failure and thus bought his ticket for the FIA ​​awards ceremony in St. Petersburg.

The Finn did that Best of his evening. Visibly tipsy and in a good mood, the 2007 world champion entered the stage, overlooked a moderator and embraced ex-team-mate Sebastian Vettel several times in front of the audience. Videos of his happy appearance quickly made the rounds on social networks. Vettel, in turn, received the trophy for second place in the World Cup - and accepted the trophy with new facial hair. The Heppenheimer now has a mustache.

Hamilton Personality of the Year

The most coveted Formula 1 title once again went to Lewis Hamilton. Eleven victories of the season brought him the fifth World Cup trophy. The most successful designer of the past season was again Mercedes. Five titles in a row speak for the silver machine of success. “Every single team member had to raise the bar. The fact that we were able to win both titles again is proof of the incredibly hard work of the entire team. I am very proud of this achievement and I feel honored to be able to accept this trophy on behalf of everyone who helped to win these world championships in Brixworth, Brackley and Stuttgart, ”said Mercedes team principal Toto Wolff.

Toto Wolff took two trophies in St. Petersburgopposite.

In the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, the world motorsport association around President Jean Todt also honored the champions of the other series. Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia defended their title in the World Rally Championship. For the first time since the comeback, Toyota won the trophy for the most successful team in the World Rally Championship.

Jean-Eric Vergne is the fourth champion in Formula E's fourth season. Johan Kristoffersson defended his 12 World Championship with eleven wins -Run his crown in the World Rallycross Championship. The youngsters from karting as well as Mick Schumacher and George Russell for their triumphs in the Formula 3 European Championship and Formula 2 were honored by the FIA. Lewis Hamilton was voted Personality of the Year. For the second time in a row, Rookie of the Year is Charles Leclerc, who will be promoted from Sauber to Ferrari in 2019. A special award from the President went to Niki Lauda and Toto Wolff, who were honored for their contribution to winning the fifth consecutive Constructors' World Championship.


Leave a reply

Name *