• Home
  • formula-1
  • Driver grades Australian GP 2018: Nobody deserves 10 points

Driver grades Australian GP 2018: Nobody deserves 10 points

Driver grades GP Australia 2018
Subscriptions & booklets

D he first race of the year saw many small ones Heroes, but not great ones. Lewis Hamilton drove an outstanding best time in practice, but failed in the pursuit of Sebastian Vettel. His brakes on Turn 9 sealed his defeat. For which the team and not the driver was responsible.

Vettel benefited from fortunate circumstances. But what sets a great driver apart is that he uses the opportunities that are presented to him. His penalty was in qualification. Without the mistake in turn 13, Vettel would have started ahead of Räikkönen, maybe even from the front row, if Max Verstappen's lapse in the same corner was rated with the same loss of time.

Raikkonen no worse than Vettel

For Vettel and Hamilton there is therefore only the grade 9. But they also earned Kimi Räikkönen, Fernando Alonso and Kevin Magnussen. Raikkonen was in no way inferior to Vettel. He was faster in practice and was ahead of his teammate at the start of the race. Then Kimi was sacrificed to the tactic of cornering Hamilton.

Alonso didn't have his best qualification, but once again got the most out of the race. And Magnussen was the better of the two HaasF1 drivers. The Dane would have scored two-digit points if the US team's pit crew hadn't had a pitch-black day. A wheel was not screwed properly during both tire changes.

Driver's scores GP Australia 2018

Here are the scores from the GP Australia at a glance. In the gallery we have all 20 drivers in the individual review:

  • Sebastian Vettel: 9/10
  • Lewis Hamilton: 9/10
  • Kimi Raikkonen: 9/10
  • Daniel Ricciardo: 8/10
  • Fernando Alonso: 9/10
  • Max Verstappen: 6/10
  • Nico Hülkenberg: 8/10
  • Valtteri Bottas: 5/10
  • Stoffel Vandoorne: 7/10
  • Carlos Sainz: 7/10
  • Sergio Pérez: 7/10
  • Esteban Ocon: 6/10
  • Charles Leclerc: 5/10
  • Lance Stroll: 5 /10
  • Brendon Hartley: 4/10
  • Romain Grosjean: 8/10
  • Kevin Magnussen: 9/10
  • Pierre Gasly : 2/10
  • Marcus Ericsson: 7/10
  • Sergey Sirotkin: 3/10


Leave a reply

Name *