• Home
  • antique-car
  • Sachsen Classic 2015: The vehicle classes of the Sachsen Classic

Sachsen Classic 2015: The vehicle classes of the Sachsen Classic

Saxony Classic 2015
Subscriptions & booklets

Class 1 (up to year of construction 1930)

V from the early days of the automobile up to 1930 the arch of the oldest vehicle class spans. Engines up to eight liters, mostly distributed over six or eight cylinders, power two-seater roadsters under large hoods or drive sedans that are reminiscent of stagecoaches. The Skoda L&K 110 from 1925 is only visually a typical representative of this class, because it is content with four cylinders and 1.7 liters displacement, which mobilize a modest 18 hp.

Class 2 (from 1931 to 1946)

Vehicles between 1931 and the end of the Second World War are also referred to as' Post Vintage 'automobiles. The limits of automotive growth have been reached. At least as far as the cubic capacities are concerned, this seems certain. The Wanderer W25 K from 1936 followed in this direction, its 2.2-liter six-cylinder in-line engine achieved 85 stable horsepower, which enabled superior propulsion. It was intended as an answer to the BMW 328, but had far less success.

Class 3 (from 1947 to 1961)

The period up to 1961 is also known as the “Post War” era. Pretzel Beetles, Opel Kapitän and Ford Taunus mobilized the masses after the war. For the better off, Mercedes gullwing, Porsche 356, Austin-Healey and road cruisers have become icons of increasing mobile freedom in the USA. In 1954, the EMW 327 was reserved for a privileged upper class in what was then the GDR, which was built in Eisenach for a few more years using pre-war technology.

Grade 4 (from 1962 to 1969)

In the course of the 1960s, the German economic boom entered its final phase. Typical vehicles of this era are the Mercedes Pagoda, the VW Beetle and the BMW of the 'new class' or the Peugeot 404 from our French neighbor. The Chevrolet Corvair Monza also dates from that period: With a rear-mounted engine and six-cylinder boxer, it should stand up to the Beetle, the 2.3-liter with 85 hp even gives you a driving experience like in early Porsches.

Class 5 (from 1970 to 1976)

Anyone who experienced these cars as new in their youth would like to count them among the young timers, butWith around 40 years under their belt, they are now among the classic cars. The VW Golf I, for example, which replaced the eternal Beetle. A Mercedes-Benz from the W 115 series, a Ford Capri or the first Fiesta are also integrated here. And the VW Passat of the first series, 1974 epitome of the modern Volkswagen with front-wheel drive and four-cylinder in-line engine.

Class 6 (from 1977 to 1995)

The youngtimer class. Cars that are usually between 20 and 30 years old and are well on their way to becoming classics. This includes the Audi Quattro from 1988, but also a Porsche 911 Carrera, a Mercedes-Benz W 126 and a VW T3b bus. Formally, the Ford Capri can still keep up, here a facelift model of the second series from 1983 in the top engine version with 2.8-liter V6, which provided 160 hp without turbo.


Leave a reply

Name *