Eifel Classic 2011: day win for Wirth / Darchinger

Hardy Mutschler
Eifel Classic 2011 - first stage
Subscriptions & booklets

D he last year's winner Hanns-Werner Wirth is also included the third Eifel Classic right at the front. With his co-driver Thomas Darchinger, he collected only 55 penalty points on an Opel Commodore B GS from 1972. Behind them, Rudolf and Stefanie Grotefels in their Jaguar XK 120 OTS from 1951 landed in second place with 91 penalty points. Oliver Steil and Kamran Ziaee in a Porsche 911 Turbo Targa from 1989 complete the podium. They also lead the hourglass class, in which only mechanical timepieces are allowed.

SS 1 -' Burgbrohl - Penny Markt '

In the first special stage (SS) of the first stage, Martin Smith and Peter Birtwhistle on an Austin-Healey 3000 Mk II finished with zero Penalty points. Thanks to the older year of construction of their 1972 Opel Commodore B GS, Wirth /Darchinger place themselves ahead of Klaus and Ute Schepper in the 1979 Porsche 911 Turbo with one penalty point each.

SS 2 A /B -' Kempenich - Im Gürtel '

Josef Schraut and Gottfried Sommerauer were right at the front in the second SS. In their 1976 Porsche 911 they collect only 19 penalty points. As many as Steil /Ziaee in a 1989 Porsche 911 Turbo Targa. Wirth /Darchinger took third place with 21 penalty points.

SS 3 A /B - 'Hochacht'

In the third special stage, too, two sports cars from Zuffenhausen are right at the front: a 1970 Porsche 914-6 with Kurt and Markus Gröbmiller on board and a 1979 Porsche 911 Turbo with Klaus and Ute Schepper. Both teams have nine penalty points. Uwe and Hans-Ulrich Jaeger in a Volvo 544 PV from 1961 take third place.

WP 4 A /B - 'auto motor and sport - FSZ II '

The Smith /Birtwhistle team once again moved up to the front with just six penalty points. Second place goes to Ernst Richter and Voler Stauch in a Mercedes-Benz 220 SE from 1963 in front of Par and Tomas Fiala in a 1965 Ferrari 330 GT 2 + 2 - both with seven penalty points.

SS' G1 '

After the fourth SS at the driving safety center, the participants were surprised by the first secret SS. Heinz-Jürgen Grewe and Jutta Franken got along best in the Alfa Romeo 2000 GTV from 1973 and Dieter Seibert and Stephen Brand in a VW Golf 1 L from 1981. Both collectedonly one penalty point. The year of construction decided in favor of the Alfa team. With four penalty points, Konrad Klimek and Andreas Schneider landed third.

SS 5 - 'Nordschleife'

The highlight of the day was also the most demanding SS: the legendary 20.75 kilometers Nordschleife had to be lapped twice, each time at 17:30 minutes. Thomas Eder and Alexander Haase collected only ten penalty points in their Porsche 356 Super 90 and are just ahead of Rudolf and Stefanie Grotefels in their Jaguar XK 120 OTS with eleven points. In third place are the daily winners Hanns-Werner Wirth and Thomas Darchinger with 15 penalty points.

All results of the Eifel Classic 2011 can be found here.

There are impressions of the first stage of the Eifel Classic 2011 in our photo show.


Leave a reply

Name *